Adult Life

Okay, let’s be real. What is an adult anyway? Well thankfully I had an HDFS class on that. (But really, what did I not learn about in school…) According to research you are an adult when:

  • You have a full time job
  • You are (or becoming) financially independent…in other words you pay bills
  • You take responsibility for yourself
  • You make your own decisions
  • Marriage

So, really if you have the majority of these things…you’re an adult.

I’m an adult. And really have been for a couple years. However, I feel more like an adult now than I ever have before. Maybe that is because for the first time in seventeen years I’m not a student. Maybe because I have ten toddlers who depend on me to care for them socially, cognitively, physically and emotionally. Maybe it’s because I made the decision to move back home because I knew it would be better for me long term if I saved money. (Even though my parents told me I could stay in Auburn.) I made the choice, not them. Me. 

Or maybe because when I was 13, I remember looking up to 23 year olds and thinking “They are adults.And they have life figured out.” And my 23rd birthday is in a month. 

Or maybe I get asked “Do you have any love interests” one million times and suddenly it hits me “I’m in that age group where no one freaks out about the age factor when people my age get married.”

There is a lot of transitions in life, when you become an adult. Life becomes more routine. You work the same time everyday. (You don’t have a MWF schedule and a TR schedule). Homework becomes a thing of the past (unless you’re a teacher). Friends start to get married, have babies, move away. Friendships constantly change.

I really did not know this stage of life is so strange, until now. I am trying to figure out my place in this world. Will I go to grad school? Will I find someone to marry? Will I have kids? It can fill me up with worry, or it can fill me up with excitement BECAUSE I HAVE SO MUCH LIFE to live (if the Lord wills). I can go on adventures, if I desire. I can move and get a new job, if I want. I can go back to school too! 

The best part of this new chapter of life is my faith. God never changes, life changes. But God does not. Jesus does not.(Hebrews 13:8 “Jesus Christ is the same yesterday and today and tomorrow”). His promises will be fulfilled. (Deuteronomy 7:9 “Therefore know that the Lord your God, He is God, the faithful God who keeps covenant and mercy for a thousand generations with those who love Him and keep His commandments”). He will take care of me. (Matthew 6:31

I start my job tomorrow. The job I’ve been dreaming about since I was 13. I am excited, nervous, and thankful. I really do not know what tomorrow holds. (It’s a Monday, so probably a lot of tears from the kids [not me]). But I KNOW who holds the future.

Leave a Reply

